This Notice Must Be Posted in a Conspicuous Place

N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a et seq.

Wage and Hour Law Abstract

Statutory Minimum Wage Rate

Employees are to be paid not less than the New Jersey minimum wage

in accordance with the schedule below.

Seasonal

Overtime

Overtime is payable at the rate of 1.5
times the employee’s regular hourly rate
for hours worked in excess of 40 in any

& Small Cash Wage Long-Term Care . e
Most Employers Agricultural for Tipped Facility Direct Care week. except where otherwise spemflcally
Employers  (fewerthan6  Employers Workers Staff provided by wage order.
1-1-2021 $12 $11.10 $10.30 $4.13 $15 Exempt from the overtime entitlement are:
 executive, administrative, and professional
1-1-2022 $13 $11.90 $11.05 $5.13 $16 P
employees
1-1-2023 $14.13 $12.93 $12.01 $5.26 $17.13 » employees engaged in labor on a farm or
relative to raising or care of livestock; and
1-1-2024* $15.13 $13.73 $12.81 $5.26 $18.13 ) i )
* limousine drivers.

* The minimum wage rates for 2024 will be at least the amounts listed above,
but could be higher based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI)

Wage Order and Regulations

Employees in the occupations found below are covered by
this wage order and regulations and must be paid not less
than the statutory minimum wage rate.

* First processing of farm products
* Hotel and motel

* Food service (restaurant industry)
» Seasonal amusement

These regulations are contained in N.J.A.C. 12:56-11.1
et seq.

Exemptions

Exempt from the statutory minimum wage rate are full-time
students employed by the college or university at which they
are enrolled at not less than 85% of the effective minimum
wage rate; outside sales persons; sales persons of motor
vehicles; part time employees primarily engaged in the care
and tending of children in the home of the employer; and
minors under 18 (except that minors under 18 in the first
processing of farm products, hotels, motels, restaurants, retail,
beauty culture, laundry, cleaning, dyeing, light manufacturing
and apparel occupations are covered by the wage order rates
as above and vocational school graduates with special permits
under the Child Labor Law are covered by the statutory rate).

Employees at summer camps, conferences and retreats
operated by any nonprofit or religious corporation or associa-
tion are exempt from minimum and overtime rates during the
months of June, July, August and September.

Labor on a Farm at Piece-Rate

Employees engaged on a piece-rate basis to labor on
a farm shall be paid for each day worked not less than
the minimum hourly wage rate multiplied by the total
number of hours worked.

Penalties

Any employer who violates any provisions of this act
shall be guilty of a disorderly persons violation and
upon conviction shall be punished by a fine of not less
than $100 nor more than $1,000.

As an alternative to or in addition to any other sanc-
tions provided by law for violations, the Commissioner
is authorized to assess and collect administrative
penalties, up to a maximum of $250 for a first violation
and up to a maximum of $500 for each subsequent
violation.

The employer shall also pay the Commissioner an
administrative fee equal to not less than 10% or more
than 25% of any payment due to employees.

Penalties for violation of this order are set forth in
N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a22.

Enforced by: Wage & Hour Division and Contract Compliance
New Jersey Department of Labor & Workforce Development
PO Box 389 « Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0389

This and other required employer posters are availiable free online at
nj.gov/labor.
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